M53 Ammo Question

Anything MG42 related.
keith375

M53 Ammo Question

Post by keith375 »

I have a wiselite M53 and was wondering which 8mm is best. I tried Yugo 1950s and that was a no go. Also where do you all find your 8mm ammo? Any upgrades you all suggest in springs or firing pins, etc... Thanks in advance keith375
dlbard
Stabsunteroffizier
Stabsunteroffizier
Anti-spam: Mg42

Re: M53 Ammo Question

Post by dlbard »

Hi Keith
I am new to the Mg42 and its clones but I have been doing a tremendous amount of reading on it. So take my comments with a grain of salt and verify. It is my understanding that the military Yugo ammo has harder primers than other ammo, thus taking a harder hit necessary to ignite the primmer. In most but not all of the cases that I read about, a heavier hammer spring did do the trick. I am assuming that you have an AR trigger group?
42rocker
Administrator
Administrator

Post by 42rocker »

The other thing to think about is semi auto vs full auto. Using only good ammo in the full auto is a must. I would also like to see more post on good ammo vs bad ammo for the semi auto. Keep in mind however if you are going to be bump firing then you should think full auto style ammo is also a must.
If shooting slowly using a semi auto what ammo can be used???? Anyone???? Again using a stronger wolf spring.

Later 42rocker
dover7838
Oberstabsgefreiter
Oberstabsgefreiter

Post by dover7838 »

I'm in no way an expert, but I've had luck using surplus Romanian 8mm ammo. Bought a spam can at the Indy 1500 Gun and Knife show in August, bought out the remaining at one gun store, and working on buying out the other. Thus far, that is all that I've tried to shoot. Only a few failures to fire out of the couple hundred rounds I've shot so far. It is getting tougher to find though, so I'm trying a few other options.