Gun no work

Ask your build questions here. Welding, assembly, etc.
mp40guy

Gun no work

Post by mp40guy »

Hi I have been building my MG42SA now for 2 years now and am having the following problems. I can shoot the 7.62 LC blanks no problem but when I change over to 8mm it dimples the primer but doesn't set the round off. I then take the rounds and put them in my K98 and they fire no problem. I have used steel cased Romanian and Egyptian rounds. It has an AR15 fire control with a wolf extra power spring in it. I have also changed barrels, trunions and firing pins.
JBaum
Administrator
Administrator
Anti-spam: Mg42

Post by JBaum »

The MG42 doesn't have a trunnion, it does have a cam piece. The reason it's called a cam piece is because the cams inside it push the rollers inward when the barrel and bolt recoil.

When you change calibers, you trade the .308 parts (feed tray, top cover, barrel) for 8mm parts, right?

Take the barrel and bolt out of the gun and put the bolt head in the barrel extension. Do the rollers go fully out in the grooves of the extension? Does the firing pin go forward as far as necessary when the rollers are fully out? How is the headspace? If the headspace is too tight, the bolt won't fully lock.

Does the top of the hammer hit on the bolt extension (which slows it down, causing insufficient force to detonate the primer)? Can the hammer go far enough forward to hit the firing pin as far forward as necessary, or does it hit somewhere? Does the recuperator push the barrel fully forward so that the bolt rollers aren't held inward by the cams in the cam piece?
John@German<remove this>Manuals.com

http://www.GermanManuals.com
hakentt
Stabshauptmann
Stabshauptmann

Re: Gun no work

Post by hakentt »

Hi I have been building my MG42SA now for 2 years now
And I've built my MG42SA from parts kit in one day with basic tig welder and basic tools, I don't have a mill, I used dremel tool.
JBaum
Administrator
Administrator

Post by JBaum »