oxy-acetylene welding

Ask your build questions here. Welding, assembly, etc.
jimdvan

oxy-acetylene welding

Post by jimdvan »

I've been doing my build with tig and its very apparent that I am not a welder. At least not yet. I'll finish just in time for my wleds to get good. But, its coming along.

I do better work with an oxy-acetylene torch. My question is, is it acceptible to use an oxy-acetylene torch to flow the weld I put down with the tig to enhance the bond of the filler material to the receiver in iffy places? Also would it be OK to use it to fill in pin holes and cleaning things up here and there?
DARIVS ARCHITECTVS
Field Marshal
Field Marshal
Anti-spam: Mg42

Re: oxy-acetylene welding

Post by DARIVS ARCHITECTVS »

I'm an experienced gas welder, and a beginner at TIG. The problem with gas welding is you have to heat up the surrounding metal so much to get one small molten spot. This causes warping. I do not advise using oxy-acetylene gas welding on sheet metal receivers. Imagine how pissed off you'd be if you heat-warped the receiver! That goof you can do without, and there's no fixing it. Learn to use TIG, and THEN proceed with your gun project. Never settle for less than quality skills and tools when you shell out HUNDREDS of dollars just for the parts alone. If you can't do it, hire an experienced TIG welder. You can do the setup with the jigs if you want to make sure it gets done right, but have an experienced TIG welder strike the arc. My friend Bernie White is one of the co-inventors of the Desert Eagle .44 pistol, and he's a world class machinist and has done a few MG-42 rewelds, and HE WILL NOT do any more because of what a pain in the A$$ they are to prevent warping and get perfectly straight so they work well. He has the jigs and all, but he'd rather do Bren guns, which he specializes in. If a world class gunsmith won't do a MG-42, then you can understand how tricky doing one of these reweld jobs is on a MG-42 receiver.